TriHealth Achieves Magnet Designation at System Level for Seven Locations

April 25, 2017

April 25, 2017

Mary Irvin 2017

TriHealth announced today that The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the largest and most prestigious nursing credentialing organization in the United States, has awarded TriHealth with Magnet designation for excellence in nursing care at seven TriHealth locations.

Two of the seven locations received Magnet designation for the first time, including Bethesda Butler Hospital and Bethesda Surgery Center (in Montgomery), while five other TriHealth locations were re-awarded, including Bethesda North Hospital, Good Samaritan Hospital, Bethesda Arrow Springs, Good Samaritan Western Ridge and the TriHealth Fitness & Health Pavilion Cardiac Rehabilitation program.  These locations were previously awarded Magnet status in July 2012.

Magnet status is recognition by ANCC, an affiliate of the American Nurses Association, that nursing providers satisfy criteria that measures the strength and quality of nursing care at specific locations. The Magnet Recognition program primarily recognizes the excellence of staff nurses, and reflects the high-quality work environment that all employees have a part in creating. Less than eight percent of hospitals nationwide have achieved Magnet status. TriHealth is one of two Health Care Systems in Ohio to achieve system level designation, and one of just 27 in the nation to achieve system level designation.

“To earn this honor a second time is a phenomenal tribute to the nearly 3,000 registered nurses at TriHealth.  I could not be more proud of them,” said Mary Irvin, TriHealth’s Senior Vice President, Chief Nurse Executive. “Our nurses thank each TriHealth team member and physician, because we couldn’t do what we do without being part of the TriHealth team.”

Magnet Status Hospitals Have Better Outcomes

Research demonstrates that patients largely benefit from visiting a hospital or care facility with Magnet status. Magnet hospitals report improved clinical outcomes, lower mortality rates, fewer patient falls, fewer medication errors, and higher patient and family satisfaction. Magnet hospitals also tend to have lower nursing turnover.

Magnet recognition is a much-sought-after distinction for health care institutions. It recognizes quality patient care, nursing excellence and innovations in professional nursing practice. Appraisers look at many factors and best practices to evaluate the culture of care at each institution and ensure there is a collaborative, interdisciplinary team approach to care that recognizes nursing as a vital element.

According to the ANCC, the program provides consumers with a proven benchmark to measure the quality of care they can expect to receive. The ANCC conducts annual requests and reviews updated documentation regarding hospital’s Magnet recognition. Typically, hospitals earn Magnet recognition for a four-year period before formal re-certification is required.

“This is a validation of the high level of nursing excellence in our organizations,” added Irvin. “Magnet re-designation for five locations and the first-time designation for Bethesda Butler Hospital and Bethesda Surgery Center, speaks volumes about our health system’s ability to provide the very best care to our patients and families.”

Last Updated: April 25, 2017